Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

AP faculty named AAAS Fellows

Collage of people

Applied Physics Professors Phil Bucksbaum, Tony Heinz, and Aharon Kapitulnik have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). AAAS describes their Fellows as “a distinguished cadre of scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements across disciplines ranging from research, teaching and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public.”

PHILIP BUCKSBAUM – For outstanding contributions to ultrafast atomic, molecular and optical science and service to the physics and broader science community through leadership, including as president of the American Physical Society. Bucksbaum is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor of Natural Science and a professor of photon science at SLAC, and of applied physics and of physics in the School of Humanities and Sciences. He is also a member of Stanford Bio-X and Stanford PULSE Institute.

TONY HEINZ – For distinguished contributions to the field of surface physics, particularly for his elucidation of the optical properties of monolayers and atomically thin materials at the limits of space and time. Heinz is a professor of applied physics and of photon science at Stanford and SLAC. He is also the Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences and a principal investigator with the Stanford Institute for Materials and Energy Sciences (SIMES) at SLAC.

AHARON KAPITULNIK – For distinguished contributions to the field of experimental condensed matter physics. Kapitulnik is the Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor of Applied Physics and a professor of physics in the School of Humanities and Sciences. He is also a principal investigator with SIMES.